Some things change, many things remain the same.

December 31, 2015 was a big change for me.  I left my position at a community college after seven and half years.  This was not an easy decision because it meant I was going to be a stay-at-home-mom (SAHM). Never did I see myself making that decision (or using that acronym).  Working and my career were a major part of my identity. Yet, my almost-4-year-old son and 2.5-year-old daughter became a much more important part of who I am.

So I made the change.  I resigned.  After I made the decision an opportunity for some part-time work popped up.  Working remains.  But the balance of work and life is much better.

Running remains a challenge and a calling.  I am so exhausted each day after caring for two preschoolers that I have trouble finding energy to go to bed! Physically and emotionally it was easier to run while I was at a job where I sat all day and stressed about work.  I could run before I came home and still had more energy than I do now.  The desire to run is there.  The road calls me.  I wear my running tights around all day because they are more comfortable than jeans and you never know when the time might arise to hit the pavement.

My new work/life balance will come.  I must be willing to give it time.  Something I have never been good at.  Yet it is only with time (and patience) that the miles will build, the strength will return, and my shoes will need replaced.

Leave a Reply

