The runner’s walk of shame.

Sometimes my body just doesn’t work right. I have been running for the better part of 2 decades and have not suffered any major injuries. My knees get stiff, my left arch tugs a little sometimes (leftover from my high school days), and chaffing can sideline me, but overall, I can boast a pretty healthy running life. Sure, my 35-year-old self does not bounce back as well as my 25-year-old self. I can’t stay up late, wake up early, and expect not to want to fall asleep at my desk. Still, the only major time off I have taken is for laziness and pregnancy.

Which is why this week has been so frustrating. Monday, my running buddy and I were doing a 3.5 mile run and my calf cramped up about 2.5. I did some stretching and made it to the end, but the calf was tight. This happened before when I was not drinking enough water. (It make sense coming off of Thanksgiving weekend, I was a little lax on the H2O. See previous post “will run for wine”).

I gave it 2 days and tried again. I made it .42 miles and the cramp came back. I do not want to hurt myself so I turned around and walked back to the locker room. My running buddy went on to finish our run and I headed back. Like a regretful night in college where you tried to sneak in without your roommate waking up, I had to walk through the lounge of students who just saw me leave 10 minutes earlier.

Thankfully, I’ve never had a DNF in a race. Training runs are another story. It was the smarter move to sideline the run until the calf is better, but this afternoon brought a great feeling of disappointment. This was the right time to listen to what my body was telling me.

Now, I just need to figure out how to not listen to my head when it tells me to stay curled up on my couch instead of running!

Leave a Reply

