What’s in a 5k?

A 5k. 5,000 meters. 3.1 miles. Seemingly worlds away from what I am capable of doing right now.

July 28 I walked (and pushed a stroller) 2.25 miles of a 5k walk/run for Huntington’s Disease. It was a beautiful morning. Perfect for an event like this. Great friends to walk with. I was 37 weeks and 4 days pregnant trying to keep my heart rate from getting too high. It should have felt like a success (which it was) but really the lack of a 5k I completed made me miss running.

My post-birth goal is to do the Jingle Bell Run for Arthritis in December. As I complain of running as I get back into it, I must remember the feeling of not completing the 5k on July 28. I love this sport. It fascinates me. I can’t wait to watch it at the Olympics. I love to read about runners and teams. And, so look forward to the day I can join the ranks of again.

As my non-running husband is working his way up to running a 5k, I only hope I can catch him. What’s in a 5k? More than you realize.

Leave a Reply

